Corporate Governance » Committees

Finance and Planning Committee

The Finance and Planning Committee works with management to set our annual and long-term strategic and financial plans and monitors adherence to these plans. It is responsible for setting our optimal capital structure and recommends the appropriate level of borrowing as well as the issuance of securities. Financial risk management is another responsibility of the Finance and Planning Committee. Irial Finan is the chairman of the Finance and Planning Committee. The additional members include: Federico Reyes García, Ricardo Guajardo Touché and Enrique Senior Hernández. The secretary of the Finance and Planning Committee is Héctor Treviño Gutiérrez, our Chief Financial Officer.


Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is responsible for reviewing the accuracy and integrity of quarterly and annual financial statements in accordance with accounting, internal control and auditing requirements. The Audit Committee is directly responsible for the appointment, compensation, retention and oversight of the independent auditor, who reports directly to the Audit Committee; the internal auditing function also reports to the Audit Committee. The Audit Committee has implemented procedures for receiving, retaining and addressing complaints regarding accounting, internal control and auditing matters, including the submission of confidential, anonymous complaints from employees regarding questionable accounting or auditing matters. To carry out its duties, the Audit Committee may hire independent counsel and other advisors. As necessary, we compensate the independent auditor and any outside advisor hired by the Audit Committee and provide funding for ordinary administrative expenses incurred by the Audit Committee in the course of its duties. José Manuel Canal Hernando is the chairman of the Audit Committee and the "audit committee financial expert". The additional members are: Alfonso González Migoya, Charles H. McTier, Francisco Zambrano Rodríguez and Ernesto Cruz Velázquez de León. Each member of the Audit Committee is an independent director, as required by the Mexican Securities Market Law and applicable New York Stock Exchange listing standards. The secretary of the Audit Committee, who is not a member, is José González Ornelas, head of FEMSA’s auditing and operating control area.


Corporate Practices Committee

The Corporate Practices Committee, which consists of exclusively of independent directors, is responsible for preventing or reducing the risk of performing operations that could damage the value of our company or that benefit a particular group of shareholders. The committee may call a shareholders meeting and include matters on the agenda for that meeting that it deems appropriate, approve policies on related party transactions, approve the compensation plan of the chief executive officer and relevant officers, and support our board of directors in the elaboration of related reports. The chairman of the Corporate Practices Committee is Daniel Servitje Montul. The additional members include: Helmut Paul and Karl Frei Buechi. The secretaries of the Corporate Practices Committee are Gary Fayard and Javier Astaburuaga Sanjines.